Welcome to 

Vaughn Wiester's 
"Famous Jazz Orchestra"

Listen to/Watch the Band


Audio Clips Video Clips
Emily So Easy to Love
Royal Blue (Vaughn's Lecture Intro to) The Floyd Garrison Story (fictitious)
Royal Blue One Note Samba (Tia Harris)
I'm Hip (Natalie Adams, vocal) Almost Like Being in Love (Tia Harris)
Doodlin' Flyin' Home 
Don't Push, Don't Pull, Don't Shove (Dick Mackey, vocal) I Have a Dream (Herbie Hancock's arranged by Bill Dobbins  Soloists: Danny White, tenor; Jim Powell, trumpet.)
Rocker On Green Dolphin Street (arranged by the band's outstanding trumpeter, Bob Larson)
My Favorite Things It Might As Well Be Swing (chart from the Terry Gibbs Dream Band book)
I Love You My Foolish Heart (Matt Ellis soloing on Gary Carney's arrangement)
'Deed I Do (Tia Harris, vocal) Blues Machine (composed and arranged by Sammy Nestico, solos by Jim Lewellen, piano, Jay Miglia, alto, Matt Ellis, trombone)
How About You? (Rose Marie, vocal)

Bewitched, Bothered, & Bewildered

Step Right Up (Ohio State University Jazz Ensemble, Ted McDaniel, director) Pennies From Heaven (Vaughn Wiester, band director, vocal)
Bewitched, Bothered, and Bewildered (2012 Wiester Scholarship winner Jordan Shremshock on vocal) Jump For Joe (Joy?)
Boplicity (OSU Jazz Workshop) Step Lightly
Caravan (Barbara Knight - vocal) Manteca
Almost Like Being In Love (Hazel Goodburn) Kissin' Bug
It's the Talk of the Town Just a Closer Walk with Thee
Cheers! Stella by Starlight
Lover Man Mon Ami, Jobim
Counter Block
Angel Eyes
People Make the World Go Round - Thom Bell/Linda Creed, arr. Wiester; Kate Ross, vocal, Jim Powell, flugelhorn
This Will Be My Darkest Hour - (Gershwin/Gershwin, arranged by Gary Carney;  Tia Harris-Roseboro, vocal, Mark Donavan, tenor sax)
They Can't Take That Away From Me -  Vocals by Jimmy Seitzer and Mary Rose Molinaro
Duke Ellington's Sound of Love (by Charles Mingus , and arranged by Wiester (solos: John Vermeulen, Mark Donavan)
Just a Closer Walk with Thee (composer unknown; arranged by Vaughn Wiester after Tutti Cammarata.  Matt Ellis solist.)
I Believe In You  (Frank Loesser, arranged by Quincy Jones) Vocal: Brian Michael Smith. Trumpet: Jim Powell
Nice Work If You Can Get it (George and Ira Gershwin, arranged by Gary Carney; Morgan Treni, vocal)
Crazy Rhythm  (Caesar/Meyer/Rahn; arranged by Dick Cone). Soloists Wes Perry, Bob Larson, Elliot Scozzaro (alto sax). and Ryan Hamilton
Camel Driver (Phil Wilson)" Solos, Jim Powell (trumpet), Kris Keith, (alto flute):  
Memories Of You (Blake/Razaf, arr. Johnny Keating; solos by Ed Morrison and Erik Gimbel)
People (Jule Styne/Bob Merrill, arranged by Don Sebesky). Soloist is Ed Morrison

This has been going on EVERY Monday night right here in Columbus, Ohio for the past 15 years - for only ten bucks!  Where have YOU been?